Flickr to Discontinue Facebook & Google Login after 30 June


Do you use Flickr from your Gmail or Facebook account? If yes, then, be prepared to create a Yahoo ID. Yahoo! will remove the option to sign-in with Facebook and Google account after 30 June. The announcement comes as surprise at a time when most sites are offering the option of social signups to garner more users.

No Facebook & Google for Flickr

If you have been using Google or Facebook account to access Flickr, then, visit https://accounts-flickr.yahoo.com/account/update/email to make the necessary updates.

Before moving ahead, let’s answer some of the most common questions about Flickr update;

Will my photos get deleted if I have been using Facebook or Google to access Flickr?

No. Your Flickr photos will not be deleted in case you have been using Facebook or Google to access the image & video hosting site. Your data is safe. All you need is a Yahoo ID to access your Flickr account.

Do I have to create a new yahoo ID even if I have an old one?

If you already have a Yahoo ID, Flickr will remind or prompt you to log-in with it. In case you don’t have, you can create a new one within minutes.

Will this affect paid services like Flickr Pro?

No. This update will not affect paid services like Flicker Pro

What do I get for using a Yahoo account for Flickr?

Flickr staffs assert that Yahoo account users will get streamlined sign-in experience and dedicated support from Yahoo team. The Flickr experience will improve.

Flickr is prompting users to create Yahoo accounts before 30 June deadline by sending notification emails about the update. Though there is no serious backlash visible in the Help Forum, people who accessed Flickr with Google and Facebook accounts will surely be disappointed.

What do you think is the reason behind this non-conformist update? Is Yahoo trying to build a bigger Yahoo email user base or is it part of something bigger?

Are you happy with the Yahoo’s announcement?

Share your Flickr update sentiments and theories in the comment section.

Do you want a professional portfolio based website for your photographic works? Discuss your requirements with FATbit team of designers for artistic website.

About Sandeep Kumar

Sandeep Thakur works at FATbit Technologies as Internet Marketing Strategist and has been active in the online marketing industry for many years. He helps clients in running profitable online campaigns and also assists social media marketers in strategy creation & deployment. Get in touch for online marketing consultation and advice. Follow on Twitter: @sandeepsktr
This entry was posted in Latest News and Event and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Flickr to Discontinue Facebook & Google Login after 30 June

  1. Eugenio Surpris says:

    Hello, I really loved your site. I found it on google

  2. The Wordsmith says:

    That’s an interesting choice. I agree that most sites are integrating more services, not cutting back, but my impression is that Yahoo! has been fighting for awhile for relevance and wants users to go through them for accounts. I haven’t used Flickr much but it seems like a cool service from what I have seen, and I like the Yahoo! brand in general! :)

  3. Lucinda says:

    Great delivery. Great arguments. Keep up the amazing effort.

  4. Karolin says:

    Hi there friends, how is the whole thing, and what you would like to say concerning this post, in my view its truly amazing in support of me.

  5. Larhonda says:

    Magnificent site. Lots of useful info here. I’m sending it to some buddies ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thanks for your effort!

  6. Debarba says:

    Fantastic items from you, man. I’ve be mindful your stuff previous to and you are simply extremely wonderful. I really like what you’ve obtained here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which through which you assert it. You are making it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can’t wait to learn far more from you. That is actually a terrific site.

  7. Rosbozom says:

    This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

  8. Fleckles says:

    This post presents clear idea for the new visitors of blogging, that really how to do running a blog.

  9. Keith says:

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  10. Cozadd says:

    what does lulz mean in text

  11. Hykes says:

    Hello to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is getting more from this web page, and your views are pleasant in support of new people.

  12. Crooks says:

    I pay a visit every day a few sites and sites to read posts, however this website gives quality based writing.

  13. united airlines says:

    Having read this I believed it was extremely informative.

    I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this information together.
    I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and posting comments.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

  14. Thanks everyone for awesome comments and feedback. Your comments encourage us to search more, write more & share more. Keep visiting this blog for stuff that you love.

  15. Carden says:

    Thank you, I’ve just been searching for info approximately this subject for a long time and yours is the best I’ve found out till now. But, what concerning the conclusion? Are you sure in regards to the source?

  16. Mcaveney says:

    If you desire to grow your experience simply keep visiting this website and be updated with the newest news update posted here.

  17. Swimm says:

    excellent post, very informative. I’m wondering why the other experts of this sector do not understand this. You should continue your writing. I’m sure, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

  18. Paquin says:

    I read this paragraph completely on the topic of the resemblance of most up-to-date and previous technologies, it’s amazing article.

Leave a Reply

